Please Excuse My Funk

I’ve been in a bit of a blogging funk lately. I don’t think I even posted once last week. I will say I’ve thought about posting. Then I think that I don’t have anything to post about. Well, that’s not exactly true. I’ve just been lazy.  But I knew I needed to participate in WIP Wednesday this week.  I have so much to share!

I do have quite a bit going on in the knitting front. First, I frogged a hat I was trying to design to match Miss A’s Milo Vest. Not a bad attempt, but if was too small. I’ll come back to it soon. I also frogged my surprise gift. I can tell you now, I was making a lace garter for a best friend.  She just had a very intimate ceremony and married her fiance, with very short notice.  I’ve had this garter in my queue earmarked for her for about 2 years now.  I was just waiting for a date.  Well, unfortunately 3 weeks wasn’t enough time to get the right yarn, get it knit, blocked and sent to her in time.  So sadly I pulled it out.  Oh well.  I’m glad she had such a great wedding and I don’t think the presence of that gift would have changed much.

On the needles is Roo Two, which I’ve promised to have done for my husband before he leaves for training.  He asked if I could get it done by then (6 weeks from now) and I just laughed.  I actually don’t have to concentrate on it quite as much as I was if I have a whole six weeks!  After starting it, I think the smaller needles and fingering weight yarn is much more appropriate.  The worsted weight was going to be way to big for him to put in his uniform pocket.

I’ve made some progress on my Grad Gift – The Boneyard Shawl.  I’m not sure if I’ve actually shared that one with my readers, since it’s a gift.  But I was home recently and showed the gift to the recipient.  So I don’t feel like it needs to stay a secret anymore.  I picked the yarn for her – Lang Yarns Tosca Light from my stash, because I knew she would love it.  Then went from there.  I thought about making handwarmers since I think she would get alot of wear out of them, but decided this yarn was begging me to be a nice chunky shawl.  The recipient lives in upstate NY so this should get alot of use in the winter!  Sorry about the washout in the picture.  Today’s not a good picture day so far, and I took so many pictures of this shawl. This is the only picture that the color was accurate in.

Next up is probably my favorite thing on the needles right now.  Favorite project actually intended for me, I would say.  I special ordered yarn from A Stash Addict.  If you haven’t checked out her shop, go right now!  She is awesome.  Her colors are so bright and playful!  She has a line called “dark arts” and they are half black and half another color.  Oh, and they sparkle!!  Well, I ordered a skein with the same effect, but with a dark brown and pink.  Not only did she dye two shades to choose from (awesome customer service right there, and I just noticed the other skein is up in her shop!!) but it turned out exactly like what I was picturing in my head.  I had this pink and brown comforter when I was in college and I’ve always loved it.  Somehow those colors popped into my head one day and I had to have her dye it for me.  Not only is the yarn itself amazing, but it’s knitting up beautifully…..now.  I had to cast-on this pattern 4 times with new modifications every time.  I don’t think I’ve never taken as many notes on a pattern as I have had to do so far on the Anastasia socks.  I think these socks do however, show-off the colors of the yarn without adding too much.  It’s such a nice and simple pattern.  The part where the twist wraps from one needle to the next I was a bit hard to figure out but I’ve pushed through!  Can’t wait till they are done and I can wear them!

3 thoughts on “Please Excuse My Funk

  1. Hopefully that funk will vanish now that you’re getting back into the swing of blogging. I had a similar leave of absence from blogging during the summer. Your WIPs look wonderful.

Leave a Reply

