Overdyeing

So I had this ball of KnitPicks Shadow in Pink Posy that my Mother-in-Law gave me for Christmas.  Now, I LOVE the color pink but for some reason this color just didn’t speak to me. I tried to knit a few things with this yarn, but it is a lace yarn which I’ve never knit with.   I felt like a frog because I was “rippit” “rippit” constantly….. I was hoping to make something out of it, like a scarf or whatnot for my MIL’s birthday, since she gave it to me.   Well, after so many tries I just couldn’t deal anymore, so I put it back in my stash and basically forgot about it.

I spend some much time reading about knitting, probably more than I actually spend knitting.  And one of my favorite websites is the KnitPicks community.  This community is the best, so much help and support for knitting and other fiber related arts!  I love talking to them, and they got me very interested in the idea of dyeing my own yarn.  I didn’t even realize that you could overdye yarn till I saw a blog post about it though.  Finally I decided that I would pull out that lace yarn and try dyeing it.  Maybe that’s all it needed for me to like it again.  So I did!  Here’s my process:

Here’s the yarn before I started.

I created a few small yarn skeins out of the lace yarn, and soaked it in water for a few hours.

Then I put some Tropical Punch Koolaid in hot water with a  bit of vinegar and put the lace in to let the yarn soak up the dye.  I actually thought it soaked up as much dye as it could since it wasn’t doing anymore.  The dye wasn’t exhausted since the water was still pink, but I think I was just being impatient.  I took out the skeins and let them cool down and the yarn was striped since the skeins were tighter than I realized.  This effect was fine with me, because I didn’t want the yarn one color anyway.

So I tried a new technique.  I used the squirt bottle technique using some Dark Cherry Koolaid, and a bottle of black dye which was made with Wilton black icing dye.  I did it outside , and actually rinsed it right away. The dye didn’t all set, but I was very happy with the result.  And the funny thing is the yarn ended up matching yarn I was given and planned on making winter hat with.  Well, I found a pattern to make some lace winter gloves on Ravelry.
The dye didn’t all set, but I was very happy with the result.  And the funny thing is the yarn ended up matching yarn I was given and planned on making winter hat with.  Well, I found a pattern to make some lace winter gloves on Ravelry.  I’ll post about them once I actually start, which will be after the baby knitting kick I am on.  Every has to have babies all at once, don’t they??

Leave a Reply

