Year of the Baby

I have never knew so many people having babies in one year!  And this year is  **shudder**  almost over!!  There are only 4 months left in 2010, and I have 3 months left of baby knitting!  I have already knit 9 items for 6 new mothers and have plan for 6 more items. I don’t really understand how this happens.  I guess I am just getting to the age where my friends are starting families and that’s why I know so many people who are pregnant, or were earlier this year.  All I have to say is I’m not one of them.  There are enough siblings, or siblings in law as I guess I should say, having their own babies.  The family doesn’t need more in one year.  Especially Emily.  She’s my husband’s sister and author of the blog Mrs. Brown Can Moo.  She is expecting twins!  Girls!  I love knitting for girls, and can’t wait to make something for these girls!

This sure is going to be a challenge and I really have to work hard to meet it. Not only do I have other knitting I want to do before Christmas, but some of my family will be here in September, and I’m hoping to start a substitute teaching job on post in September also.  This is going to put a serious damper on my knitting time.  I truly think I am overreaching here, but if you don’t have a goal you can never meet it right?  I actually wrote out a list yesterday of the things I want to get done before the year is over.  I have 17, yes count them, 17 items I want to knit before December 31st. This does include the previously mentioned baby items.  And only 3 of them are actually for me.   By making a list I have learned I am a very selfless knitter.  I really enjoy the process more than the satisfaction of having the finished item.

It’s not that I don’t want to finish the item.  I know there are a lot of people out there who enjoy what they have put into an item so much that once the end is near they actually start to put it on the wayside.  I’m very different.  Once the end is near I don’t want to stop till I reach that finish line!

5 thoughts on “Year of the Baby

  1. Hi Sweety Love love love SEEing WHAT YOU KNIT !!! You’re Not Only a Talented Knitter .. The Items Themselves Are Just adoreableeee !! Signed Up I’ll Know to Pop Over Whenever You Do a Blog :))) Soon as My Laurel Hill Box of Assorted Needles & Hooks gets Here I’ll take as Close Up a Piccy as I Can So You Can SEE the Unreal Gorgeous Wood Grain in each HandMade Piece !! Can’t Believe This Guy Is Selling HandMade Needles in My FAV Sizes for a FEW Dollars lol That TRUMPS The KP Sale ! And BTW Am Sooo PROUD OF YOU For Taking That Teaching Job :))) You Go Girl !!! Smart Sweet = Successful !!! Highs in Knitting Tara

  2. Wow. That is a lot of knitting to be done! But it sounds like fun. When I started crocheting and knitting my friends and family’s children were too old for blankets and toys and things. I’m looking forward to grand nieces and nephews so I can make things for them!

  3. Well, umm… at least the baby knitting is small? That’s the best help I can offer to someone who’s planning on completing 17 projects in 4 months. Godspeed, girl! Gotta agree though, I LOVE knitting gifts for people who appreciate them. It’s a far better feeling than wearing a pretty piece of knitwear. 🙂

  4. Wait…you’re knitting something for my girls?? YAY! I’ve been all over mom for something, but she says she’d rather sew them stuff..it doesnt take as long and then she can make more. Just so you know, my kids always look AWESOME in bright colors..even as newborns!

Leave a Reply

