Rohrspatz & Wollmeise

I have a yarn enabler.  Her name is Heather (go check out her new blog A Tangled Yarn).  She is really the only one I know here in Germany who also knits and dare I say it is more obsessed than me!  Well, needless to say she found this yarn shop called Rohspatz & Wollmeise about an hour away, and read about their big sale. Since we don’t have very many shops here, and the shops we do have are not really great ones, we decided to check it out.  Before we planned on going, she heard a podcast about Knit Nation and how the Wollmeise stand was almost stampeded when the doors opened!  Then she looked into the yarn more and found out how amazing it is, and how much of a demand this yarn is in!  When an online shop has it they sometimes sell out in a few hours!  That’s how popular this is.

Well, the first time Heather went I had schoolwork to get done and couldn’t go.  She called me from the parking lot to talk up this yarn!  So of course we both went again 2 days later!!!   Let me just say that walking into this place is overwhelming.  You are hit by a brick wall of color, and you don’t know where to look first.  If you aren’t careful, you don’t even know what you buy!  I put so many colors in my bag, that when I reevaluated them, I was like “I don’t really remember picking this up”.  And the more colors you look at the more you like them and the more you want!!!   I swear I could go in there and spend $1000 with no problem at all.

I have some ideas of what I’m going to make with the yarn I picked out.  And some yarn I was just like, I’ll find something to make!  I’m sure I will keep you updated on what I make with the Wollmeise yarn.  I’ve added it to my stash on Ravelry, but the one problem with this sale is that there were no colorways on the yarn.  This is because it was the not-so-perfect sale. So that means the color may not have been perfect, or the weight was a bit off, or there are a few knots in the skein.  But for the price, this yarn sure was a steal, and I hope they do it again next year!!  I will be ready…..  Here’s some of my favorite colorways I bought.

Here’s my current work in progress.  Remember the sock blank I dyed?  Well I started making socks 2-at-a-time.  I’m almost done with the gusset! This is the first time I have ever knit them this way, and not a single sock on DPN’s.  I’m really loving the way it works and hot the colors are turning out.

7 thoughts on “Rohrspatz & Wollmeise

  1. Thanks for the photos! I’m jealous from 4000 miles away! lol The colors that you posted look to me like Baristo, Pitahaya and Miss May but as you said, it’s a guess since they’re a bit different than the real colors! Maybe post them on the ravelry Wolmeiseaholics group, people often can identify them. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Odds & Ends « Suddenexpression's Blog

  3. Pingback: 3KCBWDAY1 – Colour Lovers | Suddenexpression's Blog

Leave a Reply

