I Read Too


“A home without books is a body without soul.”    by Marcus Tullius Cicero

So far you have read all about my gardening, and my knitting.  Well I have a few other loves in life.  One of them being books.  It’s often a forgotten love, really taken for granted.  But every now and then I come across a book that doesn’t let me put it down.  And then I remember how much I love reading, and how important books are to my life.  I’m going to try to include some book reviews here, when I actually finish a book.  I read slowly though, so they may be few and far between.   Right now is not one of those times, but I found a questionnaire on  Life And Yarn or Yarn and Life .  I found it very interesting and different from the ones you typically see, so I wanted to share my answers with you, my loyal readers.

1. Favorite childhood book?
“The Outsiders” by S.E. Hinton
& The Choose Your Own Adventure books.
2. What are you reading right now?
“The Shop on Blossom Street” by Debbie Macomber
“Respect The Spindle” by Abby Franquemont
3. What books do you have on request at the library?
“Vogue Knitting: The Ultimate Sock Book”
“Thanks for the Memories” by Cecelia Ahern
4. Bad book habit?
Dog earing the corner.  I really have to make a bookmark I continue to use.
And starting books I don’t finish.
And picking up books I want to read, putting them on the bookshelf and never reading them.
5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
“The Shop on Blossom Street” by Debbie Macomber
An Ireland travel Guide
“The Best of Vogue Knitting Magazine; 25 Years of Articles, Techniques and Expert Advice”
6. Do you have an e-reader?
No, but I would really like one for Christmas 😉
7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
I try to read one at a time.  If I start two I never finish the first one.
8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Not really, but I’ve started reading knitting fiction when I started to really get into knitting.
9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
Don’t really know.  If I don’t really like a book, I don’t get past the third or fourth chapter.
10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
“13 Reasons Why” by Jay Asher
11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
Not often at all.  Twilight was my biggest reach because I’m really not into the vampire thing.
12. What is your reading comfort zone?
Knitting, Young Adult books, and Romances, but not the cheesy, sex-filled romances.
13. Can you read on the bus?
Sure, if I rode a bus.  I can read anywhere.  No motion sickness for me.
14. Favorite place to read?
Outside, or in my comfy chair in the office with a nice hot cup of tea.
15. What is your policy on book lending?
Right now pretty easy going, I just like to get them back.
16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
One of my bad habits.
17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
No, never.  I never write anything in a book.
18. Not even with text books?
Text books are VERY different.  I do more writing than I used to.  Do alot of highlighting too.
19. What is your favorite language to read in?
English, I can’t really read in another language.
20. What makes you love a book?
When it’s not predictable, and I get engaged with the character.  If I feel involved, than I can’t stop reading.
21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
If I couldn’t put it down.  Then I think it’s worth reading.
22. Favorite genre?
Oddly enough, I have no idea.  I just like what I like.  I don’t know how to classify them.  Alot are books that would be on HS and College book lists.
23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
Classics.  I love watching movies based on classic movies, and I love the ideas of the stories, but they were written differently back then.  For
some reason the type of writing turns me off.
24.Favorite biography?
Also my very favorite book.  “All But My Life” by Gerda Wiessman Klein.  Amazing book about a Holocaust survivor.  Always gives me hope when I read it.  Even met the author!
25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
Yes, as required reading.  Twice.  For different classes.  And I didn’t like it.  Either time.  “7 Habits of Highly Effective People” by Steven Covey.
26. Favorite cookbook?
There are so many!!!  But my very favorite is Taste of Home Winning Recipes.
27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
I don’t think I’ve read what you would consider an “inspirational” book at all.
28. Favorite reading snack?
Hot tea, or my favorite white chocolate mocha mix.
29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
The Twilight series.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love the movies, but to me it’s completely different reading the books.  I never pictured any of the characters anything like the way they are in the movies.
30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
I wouldn’t know.  Don’t read critics reviews.
31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I tell it how it is.  Just because I don’t like something doesn’t mean someone else doesn’t.  Everyone has different tastes, otherwise the world would be boring!
32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
German.  I have alot of access to books written in Deutsch!
33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
Shakespeare.
34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
I’ll have to try reading The Diary of Anne Frank again.  I tried when I was young but the size just scared me.
35. Favorite Poet?
Dr. Seuss.  And Edgar Allen Poe of course.
36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
Too many!  4 or 5 usually.
37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
Every now and then.
38. Favorite fictional character?
Jo March from Little Women
39. Favorite fictional villain?
Sorry, no idea.
40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
Something holocaust related. I love reading survivor stories.
41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
Couple of months, mostly during school when I had way too many classes working.
42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
I don’t look at it as giving up.  It’s like when you knit, if you have doubts about something, don’t keep working.  You won’t like the finished
products.
43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Sleep.
44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
Little Women.
45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Twilight
46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
Probably around $50.  I used to work at Barnes and Noble, but never really spent too much at once.  I was there constantly.
47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
I usually just read the back.
48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
If it doesn’t make me want to keep reading. If I can put it down without wanting to just read one more chapter, I’m not that interested.
49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
I try, but mostly separating mine and my husbands.
50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
I like to keep my books if I bought them, if I got them for free and I’ve read it, I’ll give it away.
51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
Not really.  I don’t really avoid any.
52. Name a book that made you angry.
Dear John.  I just didn’t understand the decisions made, BUT I couldn’t think of any other way it should have gone.
53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
A lot of “required reading”.  Especially the book “The Things They Carried” by Tim O’Brien.
54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
I’m really not sure about that.
55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
Magazines.For some reason I love reading them.  Knitting, News, Fitness, Cooking and Gossip.  I just like magazines.
4 thoughts on “I Read Too

  1. Dog-earing books is such a problem for me.
    I just tell myself it makes them look more loved. (:

    Some of the best books I have ever read were required reading.
    Like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, and Their Eyes Were Watching God.

  2. This is great, but I wouldn’t even know how to answer many of those! I am an avid reader, when I am not knitting. (okay, so that is rare, but I am still pretty well read. And I read in the bathtub, so that is a lot….)

Leave a Reply

