WIPW, A Book & Some Bad News

Well, but the Citron and the Skyp Socks are both still on the needles.  The Skyp Socks will probably be on for a while since I’m not a knit-a-sock-a-week kinda gal!  I’m a bit slower than I would prefer, plus I’ve been ADDICTED to the Citron.  There are five sections in the Citron.  Or tiers as I like to call them.  I’m almost done with the fourth.  It’s a fast knit and I’m plugging right along with it.  I’m really loving the way the colors look.  I can’t wait to see how it looks once it is blocked.  After knitting this, I have decided that I will definitely buy some more Malabrigo Lace in the future.  I really didn’t like lace knitting.  After making this Citron, I have been opened up to the world of lace with a warm welcome.  I guess the yarn you use can really make a difference in your take on the concept.

I’ve also had something on the needles that I refused to share.  It’s not like I don’t want you to see it!  There’s just two people whom I don’t want seeing it!  That’s because it is a baby gift.  My husband’s brother and his wife welcomed their second son into the world last week!  And his name’s Cameron……I just love it!  This sure was a kick in the butt for me since I’m only about 1/4 of the way done with the gift.  It’s just a bit of an intricate stitch pattern that’s hard on my hands, but I need to get over it.  I pulled it back out last night and figured I would give you a nice little peek.  Really only because I love teasing!!

Also, I tried casting on a pair of leg warmers last night.  Turns out I need a bigger circular needle of some DPNs in size US 6 or US 7.    I’m going to check out a new yarn store  (yay!  it’s only 20 minutes away too!) that my friend from A Tangled Yarn discovered a few weeks ago.  I’m hoping they have what I need.  A large circular would be the best, because I just realized I would be able to do 2-at-a-time!!  Now that I know how to do that.  It’s not just for socks anymore……  My friend requested leg warmers for her daughter.  I decided on the Lil’ Legwarmers pattern published on the blog Knitted Fresh Daily.  I really need to spend some time perusing her blog. It looks pretty entertaining. You should go check it out.  I’m using a yarn I’m really excited about.  I picked it up around here somewhere (here being somewhere in Germany).  It’s called Lana Grossa Bingo Print and has small segments of gray to green to pink.  I just love the colors, and I think the little girl receiving them will too!

Onto the book.  I can’t believe I read it in a week.  With all, and I emphasize the word all, going on in my life right now.  We will get to that later though.  The book: Made From Scratch; Discovering the pleasures of a handmade life.  Being a very crafty person, I thought this was a book concentrated on crafts, and recycling for personal use and whatnot.  I was quite a bit off track, and I guess that happens when you don’t read the description of the book.  I’m blonde sometimes, what can I say?  But the book is about self-sufficiency.  Basically, living off the land, buying local, raising chickens and bees.  That sort of thing.  With a very minor mention to knitting and spinning.  I have no objection to this way of life, and some I agree with and some of it I don’t find practical.  For me.  But this book…..I just couldn’t put it down.  The author Jenna Woginrich just writes well.  Everything flowed so well, and made so much sense.  I didn’t feel I was reading, as much as just listening to a friend.  And I think that’s why I read it so fast.  I do suggest it, to anyone who has even a small interest in self-sufficiency and making more of an everyday connection to our ancestors in everyday tasks.

Now onto the bad news.  Remember when I said that it was basically pouring cats & dogs in my life?  And I mentioned that on top of a whole lot of other stuff my Grandfather had a heart attack?  Well he died this weekend.  He was a very kind and generous man who was very good to his family.  But in the past few years he’s changed.  Alot.  After this heart attack I knew it wasn’t going to  be much longer, and I was right.  Good news is that he is in a place right now where he can see well again, and he can walk and talk.  And he made it there just in time to join his wife for their wedding anniversary.  My cat’s also sick.  Really sick.  He had to spend two nights at the vet’s place and he still hasn’t really eaten anything.  More on that tomorrow, since this post seems longer than I had anticipated.  If you haven’t gotten bored yet, thanks for reading!!

14 thoughts on “WIPW, A Book & Some Bad News

  1. I’m sorry for your loss. But on a happy note, I’m loving the colors of your Citron! It makes me want to cast on my own Citron to try out. I hope the rest of your week goes better.

  2. Can’t wait to see the baby gift! Looks great so far!

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. I lost my step-grandpa this past week as well, so I feel your pain. I find that I actually can read faster when things are crazy in my life or I need to put emotion in the back of my mind. Maybe that is why you finished the book so quickly!

  3. I’m really sorry about your grandfather’s passing and I hope your cat makes a recovery!

    I love the yarn you are using for Citron – it looks like it’s going to be fabulous when it’s done!

  4. So sorry to hear about your grandpa and sick kitty! For me, knitting can be a really soothing hobby during times like that. Don’t be afraid to cast on something really simple just to keep your hands busy.

    Gorgeous Citron! The colorway is awesome.

  5. I’m very sorry for your loss, and I hope your kitty gets better.

    On a happier note, your Citron looks beautiful! I’ve also got some Malabrigo Lace set aside for one, but it’s been bumped down on my priority list for a while. I can’t wait to see yours done! I’m glad to hear you are more open to lace now, I didn’t like it the first time I tried it either, but a nice yarn makes it so much more pleasant, and Malabrigo is a dream in every weight!

  6. I’m sorry for your loss. And I hope your cat feels better soon.

    On a brighter note – I like the bright colors of whatever you are knitting. I think baby stuff look better in non pastels. Congratulations on becoming an Auntie!

  7. I am sorry for your loss. My grandpa passed away last month, as well. It is hard to say goodbye, but I am also glad for him. His ailing health dragged him down and at the end he was so miserable.
    Hugs
    Malabrigo Lace is my new favorite yarn. I just finished the Wispy Cardigan in it and I can’t believe how soft, how beautiful, how drapey, this yarn is. Can’t wait to see your Citron finished!

  8. Laura, I am very, very sorry for your loss. Was it your grandpa whom I met at your wedding and also Carolyn’s wedding?

    For good news, your wedding album and discs will be shipping out this weekend to you!

  9. Sorry for the loss of your Grandpa.

    I am also knitting a Citron right now, I’m using Malabrigo Sock in Lettuce. I’m working on the 3rd tier and hope to have it done within a week. I’ve knit other lace and I love how simple the lace in this Citron is.

    Have fun exploring the “new” LYS!

Leave a Reply

