I Needed This – Blog Swap!!

So I have had a rough few weeks as I have posted about several times. Unfortunately the storm hasn’t stopped.  On Friday, we also lost little baby Thia.  They don’t know what happened, and she was doing so well.  It has been so hard for us to mourn this loss, and my husband is heading home on leave tomorrow to go see his family.  They need him there, and he needs to be there.  Today is the memorial back in the states for the twins, and tomorrow is my Grandfather’s funeral.  It’s hard not to be home right now, and to be so far away.  I’m sure you all can imagine.

So I needed a pick-me-up.  I needed something that could put a smile on my face.  And guess what came today!!  My blog swap parcel from Tammy G over at Life and Yarn or Yarn and Life.  You should all take a little trip over to her blog (not until you are done reading mine though, of course!)  So we are supposed to send 7 separate parcels.  Mine has 10 parcels in it!  And well, if you count the ones that are 2 taped together, than there really are 12.  My Tammy G you are quite a generous swap partner.   Don’t worry though, I’m not complaining!!  And the wrapping paper has such cute knit patterns on it!  I love it!

So I opened my first parcel.  And it says on the inside of the card “A kit to help with the knit”.  Did I mention her cards have a cute knitted pattern on them too?  Inside I found homemade stitch markers, giraffe patterned pencils, and a needle gauge.   All so useful too.  And the stitch markers are handmade!  I have to say, the one thing I was hoping to get in this swap was nice stitch markers, and Tammy G must have just read my mind!  And the best part?  They are little kitty themed.  So adorable!  Definitely put a smile on this girls face.  I needed this, that’s for sure.

Sorry for the blurriness of the picture.

Now, I have a confession to make.  I’ve felt like such crap, that I really just needed to break into another package.  The fact that there were 10 parcels felt like it was giving me permission to do this.  I mean, things happen for a reason right?  Just like the timing of this gift.There was no order to follow, except for the second parcel.  So I’m bad, did I mention that?  I picked the fluffy package, that squishes in my hands!  And let me just say, this yarn is to die for.  And that is not an opinion, that is a fact!  The card read “Ya said you’re not afraid of the bright, hopefully you won’t have to shade your eyes in the light!”  I love her little rhymes. I have seen blog posts about this yarn and it just looks so luscious!  (yes luscious is my favorite word to describe yummy yarn!)  Ahhh….Mini Mochi!

I would like to thank Eskimimi for organizing this swap in The Blog Hub group on Ravelry.  It was so fun to organize and send out to my partner, and it is just as fun opening my gifts!  Join me tomorrow for Day 2 of Blog Swap!  And I’m thinking I might open 2 gifts tomorrow too.  For 2 reasons.  Mainly because I’m going to be wallowing at home, and will be all alone on the day of my Grandfather’s funeral.  Another reason is because my family is coming on Thursday, and we will be doing a lot of traveling after that.  Which means……lots of blog material!

6 thoughts on “I Needed This – Blog Swap!!

  1. Awww, I’m glad that this helped you to feel better. I’m so sorry for all of the losses you’ve experienced lately. It’s like the saying goes “when it rains it pours,” but damn it still absolutely freakin sucks!!!! I’m thinking of you and all your family! Praying for your hubby to have a safe trip home and back to you!!! I’m sure you’re looking forward to your family’s visit!!! Enjoy it! I can’t wait to read about it and see pictures!!! Love you!!!!!

  2. what a cool swap package! I love those kitty stitch markers… For what it’s worth I am so sorry for your losses, life can really be rough sometimes. Hugs from Linn

  3. I’m glad you liked it, but the box that those first items were taped to also goes with them, so feel free to open another! I lurves swaps!!!

    And the rough time you are going through, this too shall pass, hugs and loving thoughts….

Leave a Reply

