I Knew I Forgot Something

When I posted yesterday, I meant to also post a book review.  I finally finished Eat, Pray, Love.  After reading it, I thought it was too bad that I didn’t read it before I started my new blog.  I think a great name for name for my blog would have been Eat, Pray, Knit!  I know, I’m corny.  It it wouldn’t be all too original.  The thing is, I tried reading it.  I read about 5 chapters or so in it, and just couldn’t get myself into the book.  Then I loaned it to a friend.  She returned it and said I HAVE to read it.  So I finished.  Not quite in time to go see the movie, but I went anyway.  This was truly the first time I had ever seen a movie while I was in the midst of reading the book.

There were three different parts of the book; she spends time in three different countries- Italy, India and Indonesia.  I still have to say that part 1 was not as interesting as the other 2.  I think this explains exactly why it was so hard for me to get into the book.  But part 2 was very interesting to me.   If you don’t know anything about the book, she spent this time in India at an ashram.  Something very unfamiliar to me.  So although there were things she was saying and beliefs she had I didn’t quite agree with, I still liked learning something new, and seeing another person’s perspective.  Part 3 just seemed to flow well, and keep me interested.  I do suggest reading the book.  At times I thought, she is so self-centered.  And that she was whining.  But I think seeing all the other challenges she had gone through during the whole book, you make peace with those ideas.  I really realized how much hardships she dealt through and there were many times where I could relate to here.

Staying on the same reading theme, I wanted to share a meme that has been making it’s way around Facebook.  Supposedly it is a list of 100 books that BBC posted and said that they believe most people had only read 6 of.  Well, I couldn’t seem to find the BBC list, but I found another blog, Pro-Science, that said she also couldn’t find the original list.  She gave me the idea of sharing it here though. I’m very curious what the rhyme or reason for this list is though.  And there are some “mistakes” , like the fact that The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is part of the Narnia Serie.   Even if there is no original list, I do think stuff like this can be fun.  However, it took longer than I expected, so don’t do it, unless you have alot of time on your hands!

 

I’m changing the directions though, so they are a bit easier to see.
If I’ve read the book, it’s in bold.  If I want to read the book, it’s italicized.

 

  1. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  2. The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
  3. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte (even have it already!)
  4. Harry Potter series – JK Rowling – I’ve tried though, just not into it!
  5. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  6. The Bible
  7. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
  8. Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
  9. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
  10. Great Epectations – Charles Dickens
  11. Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
  12. Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
  13. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
  14. Complete Works of Shakespeare – I’ve read a few, not all though!
  15. Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
  16. The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
  17. Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
  18. Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
  19. The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger (have the book, just need to read it!)
  20. Middlemarch – George Eliot
  21. Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  22. The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
  23. Bleak House – Charles Dickens
  24. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
  25. The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams (kinda.  it’s kind of a prerequisite to marry my husband!)
  26. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
  27. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  28. Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
  29. Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
  30. The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
  31. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
  32. David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
  33. Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
  34. Emma – Jane Austen
  35. Persuasion – Jane Austen
  36. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – CS Lewis (um, isn’t this part of 33?)
  37. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
  38. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres – (seen the movie though….it has Christian Bale in it!  YUM!)
  39. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
  40. Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne
  41. Animal Farm – George Orwell (another one I have, just need to read!)
  42. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown (have it too!)
  43. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  44. A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
  45. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
  46. Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery
  47. Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
  48. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
  49. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  50. Atonement – Ian McEwan
  51. Life of Pi – Yann Martel
  52. Dune – Frank Herbert
  53. Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
  54. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  55. A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
  56. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  57. A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  58. Brave New World – Aldous Huley
  59. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
  60. Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  61. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
  62. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  63. The Secret History – Donna Tartt
  64. The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
  65. Count of Monte Cristo – Aleandre Dumas
  66. On The Road – Jack Kerouac
  67. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
  68. Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding
  69. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
  70. Moby Dick – Herman Melville
  71. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
  72. Dracula – Bram Stoker
  73. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
  74. Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
  75. Ulysses – James Joyce
  76. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
  77. Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
  78. Germinal – Emile Zola
  79. Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
  80. Possession – AS Byatt
  81. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  82. Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
  83. The Color Purple – Alice Walker
  84. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
  85. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
  86. A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
  87. Charlotte’s Web – EB White
  88. The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
  89. Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  90. The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
  91. Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
  92. The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Eupery
  93. The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
  94. Watership Down – Richard Adams
  95. A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
  96. A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
  97. The Three Musketeers – Aleandre Dumas
  98. Hamlet – William Shakespeare
  99. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
  100. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo
5 thoughts on “I Knew I Forgot Something

  1. Great list! I quickly scanned through it and I think I’ve read about 43 of them but it reminded me of some that I have and haven’t yet read, as well as some classics that I really want to read!

  2. I love lists like this. I’m bookmarking it. Of the ones that you haven’t read or italicized, I really recommend both Rebecca and Birdsong. So many other good ones to choose from, too! Thanks for sharing this.

  3. I’ve read about 19, more if you count the whole Harry Potter series and the whole Little Women series…I’ve only read the first in the Narnia series, so never Lion, Witch Wardrobe. I was just thinking about reading some more classics…However, I’d rather poke myself in the eye with a burning poker than read The Great Gatsby again. Does it count that I have read it in EVERY American lit class I have had from HS through college…gaaahhh!

  4. i’ve read quite a few of these, and own quite a few others that are waiting to be read. my aunt keeps telling me to read rebecca (she gave me a copy), so i guess i’ll start that soon…i mean, i’ve had it for 15 or more years! i’d recommend a prayer for owen meany, it is really good! i love john irving’s books! knitting keeps trumping reading lately though!! thanks for posting this list:)

Leave a Reply

