Monogamy & Chocolate

As many of you may or may not be aware of, I celebrated my birthday yesterday.  I’m now 26 years old, which I truthfully can’t believe myself.  Since it was a Monday though, the celebrations were this past weekend!  Saturday night we had some neighbors over for desserts and games.  It was quite fun, but everyone said that I should of had my friends bring the desserts since I shouldn’t spend my birthday in the kitchen!  Well, I truthfully didn’t mind at all since the kitchen is one of my favorite places to be in this house.  I love cooking, and baking at times.  I personally don’t think I’m the best baker but everyone seems to disagree with me on this. There is one other reason I really didn’t mind spending my birthday baking, and that is because I’m a greedy birthday girl.  I have to have my Grandma’s Angel Pie.  There is something about this pie and when I was about 8 (i think, but all the years tend to blend together) I refused to have anything but this pie from then on.  I never had a birthday cake after that, always had Angel Pie!  I might be a greedy birthday girl that needs my pie, but it is so darn good that I thought I would share it with you!!

First you have to make the crust!  It’s quite easy, especially if you’ve ever made meringue cookies.  It’s basically the same thing.

You Need:

2 Eggs Whites @ room temperature
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 cup fine sugar (you can use regular if it’s all you have)
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 300 degress.  Beat egg whites till foamy.  Add cream of tartar and vanilla. Beat.  Add sugar 1 Tbsp at a time till very stiff.  You should be able to pull the beaters out and have a peak that doesn’t fall over.  Butter a pie pan and fold in mixture.  Keep the center flat and build up the sides of the pan.  Bake for 1 hour.  DO NOT OPEN the oven, and keep crust in the oven for 2 more hours after you turn it off.

Crust before cooked.

 

After baking

Filling:

1 bar of Baker’s German Sweet Chocolate
1/2 pint heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract

Break up the chocolate into a microwave safe bowl and add 3 Tbsp of water.  Microwave for a few seconds at a time, stirring in between.  Keep doing so till the chocolate is melted and well blended.  Add the vanilla and blend.  In a large mixing bowl beat cream till thick.  Should be a whipped cream consistency.  Add chocolate slowly.   Add filling to pie crust when it is fully cooled.  I hope you enjoy this amazing chocolate angel pie! I apologize for the craptastic picture, but I had to take a picture of the leftovers.

 

 

On the knitting front, I’ve become monogamous.  I have read how people have so many problems with startitis.  And have tons of WIPs!  I used to be one of these people.  I truthfully don’t know what has happened to me.  I cast on for the Star Crossed Slouchy Beret, which I’ve named my Starry Night Hat, just last week.  And I haven’t touched another thing.  Had a small episode of “when knitting attacks” but got back on track, and finished last night.  Took me less than a week to finish one project.  That’s pretty good for me, and I think concentrating on just one project has helped.  I even knit the whole thing in Continental, which I’ve just learned.  So hopefully I will continue to get the hang of continental and knit even faster!  Pictures to come later this week!  Now to swatch and cast on for Amused!

 

3 thoughts on “Monogamy & Chocolate

  1. I have to say I’ve never really been too bad about this, I don’t think. I do have two giant and one smallish WIP’s that are currently idling while I smash away at Christmas gifts. But really, I like to attack one project, maybe two, at a time. If not, I get overwhelmed and feel I’ll never finish anything. Your pie looks yummy. Happy Birthday 🙂 26 sounds so chic and fabulous.

  2. I ran into your blog looking for the recipe for Chocolate Angel pie – my mom always used to make it for us… then discovered you’re a Wollmeise fan, too… your photographs of the yarn are gorgeous! Makes me want to fly to Germany to go to the shop myself instead of having to wake up at 2 AM North Carolina time to see if I can get some into the online shopping cart fast enough 🙂
    Thanks for the recipe!
    esdehority@aol.com

Leave a Reply

