Quick Fix Decorations

Sometimes I wonder why I bother with all the decorations I put up.  I feel like I’m the only one who seems to appreciate them, yet I still continue up until Christmas Day.  We didn’t have a big party, or a fancy dinner that required the need of a dining room table center piece, yet I was creating one on Christmas Eve.  I’ve decided though, that it’s not just for me.  If our house was barren of Christmas decorations then the snow and gifts would not really make it feel like Christmas.  It’s not that I or anyone else really needs the decorations.  We would have a perfectly humble and enjoyable holiday without, but when you have them and can decorate your home it just creates a sense of coziness.  To me it makes the season.   After realizing this, I decided it was ok to do more, even though it was already Christmas.  Even if it really was just for me!

With that said, I want to share with you two unbelievably easy tweaks I did on some not so perfect decorations, to create a wonderful center piece.  I’m actually wishing I had had a nice big dinner and some guests to enjoy it.  I would however prefer family right now, but that just wasn’t possible being in Germany.  I figured I’d still share even though Christmas Day has passed, because I am still celebrating the Christmas Season.  12 Days of Christmas right?  I’ll still be listening to Christmas music, and I’m sure many of you are still having Christmas parties and enjoying the season as well.

I’ll start with a decorative vase I was given on my birthday.  It was given to me by someone who was invited over for the birthday celebration just several hours earlier.  Which leads me to believe it was a quick, put-together, what do we have around the house type gift.  Don’t get me wrong- I am very grateful that they even came to celebrate my birthday and was not expecting any gifts at all, so the large vase was very much appreciated!  It, however was not quite my style.  There were these twigs set up in it, that I really felt were not quite right for me.

But I made a quick fix! I just replaced the twigs with some green and red glass ornaments, finagled a little with the bow and viola!  Although I would prefer a different bow, I didn’t have the time to go out and buy one.  Even without though, it is perfect for the season!  Now my Aunt also sent me some gift garland.  I don’t know.  I just don’t love them.  And with the cats I have, I don’t know if I would trust having it on my wall.  Plus, just by taking them out of the box we had these big pieces of glitter all over our new couch and I didn’t really enjoy the clean-up process of that.

But I used these to make a quick fix too!  Coincidentally my mother sent me a package that I received the same day, which had a cute little sleigh in it. I cut some of these little presents off the garland and arranged them into the sleigh.  I’ve thought about gluing them, but I figured that if I don’t I can add things I find in years to come, and rearrange how they look.  I’m very happy with the results of these little improvements I have made.  I hope it inspires you to take another look at things that you don’t love, and figure out what you can do with them to make them into something that puts a smile on your face.  Here’s my finished center piece and I must say I am still smiling.  Not to mention it took longer to post about this process than it actually took to put it all together!  Hope everyone had a safe, warm and merry Christmas!

One thought on “Quick Fix Decorations

  1. Those are adorable decorations!!!! It’s funny that you posted this, because yesterday my aunt was saying how the night before Christmas eve she was still putting more lights on her tree and decorating her mantel. She never has Christmas at her house and we were all asking her questions why she would even bother at that point?! And her answer was the same, I enjoy looking at them and it makes it feel like Christmas!!!! I hope you had a great Holiday and have an even greater New Year! 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

