Excuses, Excuses

Excuses for not getting up my WIP Wednesday.  I really should just start calling it my WIP Thursday post.  But this week I actually have good reasoning.  I spent 7 hours on post yesterday.  I’m not sure how, the time went by pretty darn fast.  But that 7 hours started at 6:30 am.  I spent a few hours at the gym, went to lunch with the hubs, then ran a bunch of errands.  Finally I got home, took a shower, cleaned my kitchen, then left for Knit Night!  Back on post!  Spent some time teaching some magic loop to a beginning knitter.  Finally got home, stuck a pizza in the oven for dinner and my husband and I were so exhausted yesterday we both went to bed around 8:45.   I say this lightly, but we really are an “old couple” sometimes!  So, needless to say there was not a single moment to post on the blog.

I have a few things to talk about today. One I am very excited about!  A few weeks ago I spent some time with a friend at her mother’s house and did a bit of yarn shopping.   Probably my favorite purchase (out of the many!) was a Zauberball by Schoppel-Wolle.  I didn’t want to wait to use it, and I decided I didn’t want to turn it into socks either.  So the Magic Ball Shawl was born!  Well conceived I guess, since it isn’t done yet.  I’m knitting the pattern Revontuli.  Interesting fact- Revontuli is the Finnish word for Aurora Borealis or the Northern Lights.  And Zauberball is German for Magic Ball.  Personally I think the two are a great combination, if only when you look at the meaning!  But alas- they are a great combination on the needles as well!  Can’t wait to finish it!  After knitting the Citron I was really turned on by the shawl knitting process and have decided it is also a type of potato chip knitting.  Now if I could only replace my snacking with it, that would be great!

Now the next picture should look familiar.  It’s because it is the exact same picture I used two or three weeks ago.  I haven’t made any progress on my Copy Cat Socks although I very much wish I was.  Instead I was concentrating on getting another certain pair of never-end socks done (which I’m happy to say will be in my FO Friday post this week!).  They are allowed to be posted about this week though, because I did get half a round done last night!  I plan to work on them as soon as I am done posting too.

Other WIP is more like a reverse in progress.  Here’s what my Amused sweater looks like now.  Hopefully next week that will change!  If you want to check out more crafty-goodness head over to the WIP Wednesday Meme!

5 thoughts on “Excuses, Excuses

  1. I’ve made sweaters that look like that, too! You have chosen a great combination, using that yummy pink Zauberball for Revontuli. Its going to be gorgeous. Self striping yarns always seem to knit up faster because you’re wondering what will happen next.

    • Oops. When I talk about being on Post I actually mean on the Army base. I assume everyone understands military speak. Overseas the base is called a post.

  2. i seriously love the combo of the shawl and the zauberball!!
    p.s if you are on a army run military base, it is “post”, no matter where you are (stateside/overseas). even though i was in the af, i had a lot of training on an army post at the beginning of my career. when i finally got to my duty station, an af base, i always made the mistake of calling it a post…in fact, army is the only one that calls it post, everyone else (af, navy, marines) calls it a base…

Leave a Reply

