Sweet Sixteenth

I counted!  This is my official 16th Work-in-Progress Wednesday post.  I can’t believe it!  And it’s ON TIME!!  Shall we celebrate?  I’ve got a few things to talk about this week.  Had a few goals too…didn’t meet them though.  I wanted to get through Chart B on the Revontuli Shawl, also known as my Magic Ball Shawl before I posted.  That didn’t happen.

I also wanted to cast-on my Amused sweater again, but that also didn’t happen.  I planned on being home all day Monday and Tuesday, but that changed.  So I didn’t have the time I wanted to spend on them.  I did however spend all my time when home this week organizing.  I’ve been listening to the Subway Knits podcast, which I heard about from Abbyknitz over at the Knit Knit Cafe podcast.   The host Maria was talking about all the yearly goals people have for knitting on Ravelry this year.  Alot of groups are formed and tags are used.  I talked about one group particular I’m participating in, the monthy ornament.  Well, I’m going participate in the one Maria created too, called Knit The Queue.  It is just what it sounds like, knit things from your queue!  Everyone has a Ravelry queue, and some people let it get out of control-I’m one of those people.  I thought it would be a great idea for me.  Maria motivated me, so I picked all the patterns from my queue that I’ve wanted to knit for a while, and I have stashed yarn paired up with.  Then I printed each pattern, put it in a large storage bag with the yarn, and put them all in a big Rubbermaid container.  Now when I don’t know what to start on I just head to the bin and pick out a bag.  The goal is to get all of it done by 2012.  Shouldn’t be too hard.

 

I cast on the Starving Artist hat today.   I’m doing good with my Knit The Queue already!  NOT…..Brand new pattern.  Using stash yarn at least though!  I heard about this hat from the Knit Girllls.  Not surprising since one of the hosts designed it.  But I wanted to knit another hat while the weather is still cold, and this will be nice and quick since it’s knit up with bulky weight yarn.  I’m using Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Bulky in a dark purple color.  I think it’s Bayberry or something like that…..I can’t find the ball band right now.  I’m not too far on it yet.

12 thoughts on “Sweet Sixteenth

  1. Chart B or no, that shawl is looking AMAZING! It’s going to be beyond gorgeous once it’s all done and blocked. Can’t wait to see it! I’m impressed by your bout of organizing, too — here’s hoping it rubs off! 🙂

  2. Your shawl is looking so pretty. Love the colors. That is such a great way to organize your yarn and patterns together. I spend so much time searching for one or the other, then I end up casting on for something completely new.

  3. Looking good! I finally finished Jeff’s Aran Sweater, working on a second sock for Molly. My big plan for the day is to clean out the sewing room, and bag up my sewing projects as you have your knitting. Pretty shawl! Can’t wait to finish my WIP shawl, and start on a lacy one.

  4. I just picked up a copy of that Revontuli shawl. I’ll look forward to seeing yours as your work on it. How nice to be so organized! I really want to get there but it keeps getting put off. That photo is motivating!

  5. I joined a similar group, 11 in 2011. My stash has grown a little embarrassing (clearly I don’t knit as fast as I shop online) and my Rav queue just shifted from 27 pages to 28 this week. I’ve already finished a couple of things that have been planned for ages and that feels great.

  6. Yay for knitting down the queue! I’m thinking of joining in on that with the Subway Knits podcast group, but I already am doing loads of stash knitting with the #stashbustarmy on Twitter.

    And great job with the shawl – it looks fabulous.

  7. Pingback: Quick Knit « Suddenexpression's Blog

Leave a Reply

