Hope You Had A…

 

My husband and I didn’t go to a party and celebrate this year.  He had to work this morning once again, even though a majority of the companies here on post had today off.  Oh well, it’s nothing we aren’t used to.  I did however try to cook for the day.  I made Guinness Corned Beef and Potatoes.  The reviews for the recipe are great.  With that said, this was the very first time I have ever cooked corned beef.  Maybe I shouldn’t take initiative and do my own thing when I’m making something for the very first time.  I thought I could cook the whole thing in the crock pot on low all day.  And I mean ALL DAY – a good 9 hours on low.  But it didn’t work too well, and I didn’t think the meat was cooked just right. I also discovered I really don’t like the after taste from the Guinness.  Needless to say, the hubs still loved it.  So at least he was pleased!  He was also happy to have some Guinness left over so he could make his very Irish Black & Tans (seen in the picture above).

Onto FO Friday.  I don’t really have much to share, but I suppose not having much is more than having nothing like most other weeks!  I finished the Pacifier Clip.  I have more plans to make some things to match the pacifier clip but they are non-knitting related.  I’ll share when the whole gift is complete though!

5 thoughts on “Hope You Had A…

  1. That’s a very unique pacifier clip. My youngest nephew’s baby was just born last night, perhaps I should consider making something like this.

    We watch The Quiet Man as we always do on St. Paddy’s Day, love love love that movie. No special meal though. Have read in a few places corn beef is actually not Irish?
    FOFriday
    Sandy

  2. the pacifier clip is so cute!! if i had a baby, i’d want one:) corned beef has an odd texture, i’m sure you cooked it fine:) i’m not a huge fan of it myself. for some reason, i always thought of corned beef as a new years thing, but i have no idea why i have that idea.

Leave a Reply

