Announcement

First and foremost on my knitting list this week is preemie hats.  I’ve blogged about the project in the past, so check it out if you are interested in learning more or participating.  Well, my husband was proud.  So proud in fact that he contacted AFN  (Armed Forces Network) Bavaria and told them about my project.  Well guess what?  They e-mailed him about the possibility of contacting me to do a public interest story on me!  And the Preemie Project!  My first initial reaction was “I’ll kill him!” but then I realized that it would be good publicity for my cause.  I still can’t believe it though. It would definitely be nerve-wracking on my part since I’ve never been on TV.  Needless to say though, I’ve been trying to get more done so I have more to show on the preemie hat front!  On another note, I have almost 30 hats already from others, and they still have a month till the deadline so I’m expecting alot more!

I’ve been trying to work on a sewing project too!  Unfortunately it’s been a bit stressful.  I’m on my second sewing machine borrowed from a friend and right now I’m on a “break”.  The bobbin keeps catching the yarn and getting all tangled.  I decided to take a break till tomorrow because of it, so I don’t stress too much.  It’s a cute apron kit I got at the craft shop here on post.

As for my book this week I started reading Knitting Around the World by Elizabeth Zimmerman.  Unfortunately I decided it was a good idea to read it after it was overdue at the library.  So I had to return it today.  But I was really just curious. Curious about her expertise in knitting and her way of writing. I have  Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitting Workshop so I will start reading that now.

I’ve also made some progress on my Magic Ball Shawl this week.  I’m really loving it so far and it’s slowly getting there.  I only (*laughs)  have 28 more rows left!

Head over to Tami’s Amis for more WIP Wednesday goodness and the Yarn Along to see what people are knitting and reading!

10 thoughts on “Announcement

  1. I am really proud of you Lola! Using your talent for a good cause. When you come back you just might have to teach me. Love you! Keep up the good work! You are amazing!

  2. Fantastic news about the story! I bet it will make a huge difference in the number of hats you get. I have one finished for you, and hoping to add 1 or 2 more to the tally before I send them off. 🙂

Leave a Reply

