I’m Sewing

For FO Friday I actually have a sewing project to share!!  As seen earlier in the week I was working on an apron.  It was just a simple kit I bought at the craft shop on post but I just really loved it.  For some reason I just couldn’t pass it up.  I think the knitting I’ve been doing for the past year, and the roaming of Etsy shops has really bit me with the sewing bug.  With that said I must say that sewing is not exactly a new chapter in my life.  I’ve grown up with my mom sewing constantly.  Along with numerous clothes and doll clothes my Mother made both of my prom dresses and even my wedding dress.  She is a very, very talented woman and I never expect to sew even the same caliber of projects.  She tried to teach me growing up too, and I’ve done a few things here and there.  But nothing was ever really interesting enough.  I think that’s changed, not only because my tastes have obviously changed in the past 15-20 years but also because I think I was never the garment sewing type.  Now I’ve realized I can sew all kinds of cute accessories!  Like say…..knitting bags!

As you know I’ve been knitting preemie hats and I mentioned this week that I’m really trying to get more and more done.  My knitting concentration is all on these hats.  I’m proud to say, with one hat, I actually created my own pattern.  I had cast on for a pattern then couldn’t find it, so I just worked with that number of stitches and created my own.  I’m thinking about writing it up and publishing it as a free preemie pattern.  As I’m writing this I’m also thinking that it would be a cute hat for pretty much any age!  I know I don’t have alot to share this week so if you want to read more head on over to Tami’s Ami’s blog!

7 thoughts on “I’m Sewing

Leave a Reply

