A Tale Of Two Yarns

First I’ll explain what you are seeing.  This is the second annual Knitting & Crochet Blog Week hosted by Eskimimi Knits (great blog by the way!  go check it out!!).  Each day from now till next Monday I will be [trying to!] blog.  There is a new prompt each day that is somehow fiber related.  I was unaware of this last year since I wasn’t as active in the blogosphere but apparently there were over 200 participants.  Please feel free to join us and make the event even bigger this year! I’m not quite sure what I will do about my typical WIPW & FOF post, but I will figure it out as it is upon us.   Not only do I enjoy having something to blog about and I am glad that I might get more readers out of this event but I’m mostly excited about reading other new blogs and gaining new knowledge and perspective!  Each day will also have a unique tag so Google search can pick up the posts!  Head over to find out more about Knit & Crochet Blog Week!

Day One: 28th March. A Tale of Two Yarns.

Part of any fibre enthusiast’s hobby is an appreciation of yarn. Choose two yarns that you have either used, are in your stash or which you yearn after and capture what it is you love or loathe about them.
Tips: It is a good idea, if possible, to choose a yarn that you adore and a yarn that just didn’t work for you. You do not need to be critical of any yarn if you do not feel comfortable in doing so, but perhaps you came to realise that one yarn wasn’t suitable for a particular project, if possible you could blog about what you have come to learn about choosing the right yarn, or your love of experimenting with fibres.

 

I’ll start with the bad first.  I want to end my post on a high note.  Yarn I loathe?  It’s hard to actually think about hating anything fiber related but there is a particular yarn in my stash which I would prefer to just throw out.  I can’t seem to bring myself to throw out yarn though.  That’s something someone can use to create a new product they might be proud of.  And maybe someone would loves this yarn (*gasp* *cough* *ICK*).  If that’s you I apologize!!!  When I first started knitting I didn’t really know what good yarn was, but throughout these last few years I have definitely become a yarn snob.  When I moved to Germany I had no idea where to get yarn and my husband and I were on a very small budget so I turned to e-bay.  I didn’t know to look for a weight or description of the yarn, I just saw the amount I would get for the cheap, cheap price.  Then I got it in the mail and was like EWWW.  So the yarn in question (below) is being donated to a garage sale they are having on post next week and I am getting it out of my house!

Now for the yarn I love most.  I truthfully didn’t know it was possible to have feelings like this toward an inanimate object.  But sadly, I do. If you are a yarn snob, than it really doesn’t need an explanation. You only need one word: Wollmeise.  If you don’t know what Wollmeise is (are you living under a rock!?!) then you need to go look it up.  Wollmeise is only available in two different weights of yarn lace and fingering, and it pretty much amazing to work with.  The colors are the most deep, vivid colors that I’m amazed I’m not looking at a work of art. Actually, you know what?  I am looking at a work of art when I look at my Wollmeise.  If you can make something out of it, expression is used to make it and it can make you feel than it’s art.  And when I can look at my yarn and it fills me with emotion, and really, well, brightens my day, than it’s art.  I’ve barely knit with my Wollmeise mainly because it’s just so darn beautiful to look at.  I don’t want to make anything with it that I might give away because I love it too much!  And lets face it, I give away 95% of what I make!

 

9 thoughts on “A Tale Of Two Yarns

  1. Fun fur has it’s uses but on the whole? Yucky.

    Can I come live in your Wollmeise stash? I won’t knit any of it, I just want to look at it.

  2. Love the picture of your Wollmeise! One of the reasons, I’d like to revisit Germany! I’ve used some Fun Fur and have a bunch in my storage bin, as it was .99 or cheaper at one point

  3. Pingback: 3KCBWDAY1 – Colour Lovers | Suddenexpression's Blog

Leave a Reply

