Skill + 1UP

Day Two: 29th March. Skill + 1UP

Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet (can you crochet cable stitches now where you didn’t even know such things existed last year? Have you recently put a foot in the tiled world of entrelac? Had you even picked up a pair of needles or crochet hook this time last year?
Tips: Don’t be abashed at admitting your own skill and progress. If possible, include pictures of projects that you gained new skills from.

I’ve been looking over at my old projects, and it wasn’t quite easy to find the projects I was working on last Spring.  This is because so many of my projects are more recent.  What does that show?  It shows that I’m knitting faster!  I can get some many more projects done in a few months, where as last year at the same time I worked on 1 or 2 projects at a time and it took most of the month to finish them!  So I guess that’s an improvement right?  It may have something to do with my recent learning Continental style knitting.  I’ve found that it’s much easier and faster to knit using the left hand than throwing with my right hand.  I’m surprised more people don’t knit this way since it’s much more natural to me.  I’m glad that my friends who recently started knitting were able to learn in the continental style.


Last year in March I was working on my second pair of socks.  I ran out of yarn and had to order more so the socks went into hibernation.  Once the order of yarn got here a month later (it takes forever for Jo Ann’s to ship APO) I pulled them back out to finish.  But needless to say I couldn’t find the pattern that was written out on a leaflet from a store.  I got cocky and thought I knew what I was doing so I finished the sock.  Let’s just say heel minus pattern, with only 3 socks previously knit does not equal enough experience to knit a gusset.  My heel in the sock looks like a piece of paper folded in half.  It’s more of a pocket than a heel. You can also see a nice big hole in the picture, and that’s the good sock! I still wear the socks, but they don’t exactly stay on very well but they only are worn as house socks. All the pictures I took I conveniently hid the particular heel in question.  I’ve learned a few lessons from this.

1. Do not try to knit socks that take more yarn than you have.  Always read yardage.

2. Do not try to knit without a pattern.  Still with my experience I always have to look at something for the heel.

3.  Don’t order yarn from Jo Ann Fabrics – it takes WAY too long to get here.

4.  Take notes!  It helps when I know where I stopped if I put a project in hibernation.

I’ve also expanded my techniques.  I’ve learned how to knit cables and actually find them pretty darn fun to knit. I even have designed my own cable hat pattern (which has yet to be written up)!  I’ve learned how to use magic loop and almost always use it now!  I’ve also learned how to knit with 2 circular needles which I’ve been using alot in my preemie hat knitting project.  I’ve also learned what good yarn is.  I don’t know if this is considered growth especially since it seems to shrink the wallet.  I first discovered Knit Picks which is an excellent yarn resource.  It’s great colors, great quality yarn and great prices.  I’ve also discovered, amongst other yarns Wollmeise, Malabrigo and Zauberball.   Another change?  I hated lace.  And I don’t mean I just preferred not to knit it, or I disliked it.  No- I loathed lace.  Now I have over twenty skeins of lace.  I think that proves how much I hate lace, right?  Your tastes can change alot in a year!  Hope you are enjoying my progress through the 2nd Annual Knit Crochet Blog Week.  If you want to read more head to your favorite search engine and type in 2KCBWDAY2.  Happy Reading!

11 thoughts on “Skill + 1UP

  1. Thank you for your comment on my Traveling Woman shawl.

    I know that you loath lace but…it was a really easy pattern to learn how to read charts and allows one to place markers for each repeat.

    Those socks are pretty cute.

  2. Oh take notes! I wish I could learn to take notes.

    I have knitting friends that keep these beautiful moleskine journals full of jotted notes and diagrams, thoughts and numbers. So useful and interesting to read! But not me, I just think I’ll remember, and never do.

  3. I am so glad I learned to knit Continental the first time around. It seems so much easier than throwing – although I’m trying to get the hang of knitting English for doing colourwork.

  4. That’s a lot of skills learned in a short time. I wish that I had started out learning continental. I know how, but it just does not come naturally and my tension is all over the place.

  5. I’m really glad I learned Continental. I was taught to knit by a girl in my 6th grade class(Dorothy Brown). I wish I could find her and thank her for teaching me to knit!

Leave a Reply

