Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches & WIPs

Day Three: 30th March. Tidy mind, tidy stitches.

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.
Tips: Many people use their blogs partly as an organisational tool – logging and cataloguing projects and newly attained skills, projects and modifications. Did you bare this in mind when you began blogging?

I was undecided on what I would do with my WIPW/Yarn Along post for this week because of KCBW.  I thought maybe I would just do one really long post.  Maybe I would do two separate posts on Wednesday.  Maybe I would just wait till next week and have more to talk about.  All that wondering, all wasted.  I didn’t even post yesterday at all!  Mostly because I just got too busy, and because I was really enjoying my evening hanging out with my neighbors.  It’s OK!  I’m posting now.  Hopefully when I’m finished here I will also get my KCBW Day 4 post up too so I’m no longer behind but that I can’t promise.

Organization.  One word.  One thing I didn’t have up until recently.  I’m not going to show you pictures of every place you can find yarn in my house, but I am going to refer you to this post.  A few weeks ago I bought a new desk/workspace.  And I put all my yarn in the cubbies attached.  You can go ahead and read the post if you would like.  That would make this section short and sweet since I just recently addressed the subject.  Somewhat.  But in the prompt it mentions Raverly.  So I want to make it a point to mention the stash section of Ravelry.  This is something I really never thought I would use much when I first signed up for Ravelry, but I must say I am grateful that I took the time to use it.  I think I would feel much more overwhelmed by my stash if I didn’t have the functions of Ravelry but now I can just use the stash to check and see if I have yarn I would like to use for a project.  It really makes things much easier.

Onto WIP Wednesday & Yarn Along.   I know, your wondering where the book is. A computer isn’t exactly a book. Well, this week all I’ve been doing is reading blogs!  Lots and lots of blogs that have been participating in The 2nd Annual Knit Crochet Blog Week!   One of the reasons I enjoy writing my blog so much is because I enjoy reading them!

As usual, I’m working on the Magic Ball Shawl, but I swear it really is almost done!  I casted on for the Noro Striped Scarf this week using Knit Picks Chroma with the Galapogos and Regency colorway. I love this knit so much that I’ve been fantasizing about what colors I should pick out for whom and knit them for everybody!  For being such an easy pattern it’s so intriguing to knit because of the color changes.  You may notice the random orange things.  They are flower petals. Today I made 3 of the 5 that I need.  I’m in the process of making another flower that will become a baby headband to match the pacifier leash.  That needs to be done this week because the shower is this come Saturday.  Here.  First time I’m ever hosting a baby shower.  And it’s a surprise!  So needless to say, I’ve been cleaning all week.  I’d like to say my Magic Ball Shawl will be done for FOF, or even by the end of the week but I’m doubting that because of the shower.  I get in serious cleaning mode when people are going to be coming over.  I’m not a slob in any means but I really like my house to be spotless when I have guests, so I’ll be continuing on with me cleaning spree till Saturday afternoon – probably till the moment the first guest walks in the door too!


2 thoughts on “Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches & WIPs

  1. YAY for the Chroma scarf!!! It looks familiar. Am I seeing double? 😉 Great job on it so far. It’s a fun knit, isn’t it? I will warn you, the yarn is never ending. LOL

Leave a Reply

