Everything but the Kitchen Sink

As you can see, I wasn’t lying.  I’ve been knitting on everything but the kitchen sink.  And you can see everything but the preemie hats in the picture.  I got Spin Off last night and read through most of it.  I have to say though, I really don’t think I like it.  I ordered just one copy from WEBS to see if I enjoyed it but I don’t think it pertains to me enough.  They don’t talk much about Spindle Spinning, just mostly wheels.  And there are way too many adds in it.  I don’t know if anyone may agree with me, but I really feel like there are more adds than most magazines.  Heck, I really feel like there are more adds than there are articles.  I’d be interested in hearing other people’s opinion though, since this is of course is just one of many issues.

I have the Never-ending scarf (as Tami of Tami’s Ami’s like to call it) still chugging along, I like to call it my Cotton Candy Scarf.  See we are making the same exact darn scarf.  Seeing her’s made me want to make one.  Little did I realize that I ordered the exact same colors she had made hers with, Galapogos and Regency.  I wound Regency first though to start from the end of the color repeat instead of the beginning.  It will be interesting to see how they compare.  I also still have the Knitmore Girls SAL fiber on the spindle of course but I’m making pretty good progress.

Two new projects are up there this week too!  After finishing the Magic Ball Shawl last week, I was itching to cast on for another one.  I think shawls just might be my thing.  I really, really enjoy the knitting process (even if I’m not totally into the finished product).  So I cast on the Brandywine Shawl in Knit Picks Shadow Tonals Royalty.  The shawl is going to be for the hubs Step-Grandma Loretta.  I sure hope she likes it!

I also cast on some socks.  Plain Vanilla sock pattern in a crazy Zauberball!  I’m loving the way they are knitting up much more than I thought I would have.  The colors are great!  This is my first time knitting an afterthought heel so you’ll have to stay tuned to see how they turn out!  I cast on these socks for the purpose of having something small and simple to knit in Prague.  Then, well, we never went.  We will, I promise that.  The reasoning being this whole government shutdown thing.  As you know my husband is a soldier so his paycheck would have been impacted by the shutdown.  And Friday night I had to make a choice on to-go or not-to-go.  And we didn’t know then how things would turn out.  Anyway, I’m just happy that we didn’t have to learn what would happen as a result of the shutdown.  Now that I’m getting off task I’ll leave you to check out other WIP Wednesday Posts and other Yarn Alongs!  Happy Wednesday!

11 thoughts on “Everything but the Kitchen Sink

  1. Wow, what beautiful knits. I just love all the color! It seems that so many magazines are compromising space to ads instead of articles. Maybe they just aren’t making it. But how can they make it if people stop subscribing? Hmm.

    Blessings, Debbie

  2. You have been busy! I love how your Magic Ball Shawl came out — those colors are just striking, and even more so in that particular pattern. I have Brandywine in my queue and would be the first to admit that shawl knitting is an addiction. (I bought Spin-off recently and as a novice wheel spinner, still didn’t find it that exciting.)

  3. Wowza! Spring sprung all over your blog! I love all the fun colors you have going. 1.5 rows away from finishing my first shawl, and I totally agree. They’re so much fun. Now I just need to find more shawl-wearers on my gift list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

