New Yarn

I have new yarn, in more ways than one, this week. And all without spending money. It’s the best way, right? I won some yarn! I also dyed some yarn. First….the giveaway!

20120323-132640.jpg

I entered a giveaway on the Wool & Cotton blog. I found the blog on the Contests & Giveaways thread in The Blog Hub group in Ravelry. I wasn’t really looking around the blog, just entered the giveaway. Now looking back I realize it’s a pretty cool blog that I plan to add to my blog reader. The author Alexandra (Twinkleshine on Ravelry) lives in Thessaloniki, Greece. The yarn I won is from Shades of Light on Etsy. I won a skein of her Paris weight, which is a 100% Merino base heavy fingering weight. I chose the 39d colorway because the mix of colors, and depth of the color is just so vivid. The dyer is also located in Greece and is very talented. She has several different bases in her shop, one of which is Dehli; a 50% wool 50% silk mix. Very nice! Go check out the bog and shop!

20120323-132652.jpg

The other “new” yarn is really just new looking. I dyed 100 g of white Schoeller & Stahl Socka 2000 yarn. I bought this yarn in Germany for the purposes of dying eventually. I had the urge to dye some yarn this past week and chose this because the dyeing group on Ravelry has themes every month. This month’s theme is dying blends and this blend is 45% cotton, 42% wool, and 13% polymide. And since it was the week of St. Patrick’s Day I dyed half the skein willow green and half kelley green using Wilton’s dye. I love how it turned out, and I want to see if it will make a good Hitchhiker.

4 thoughts on “New Yarn

  1. Oh, pretty yarns! And welcome to the dark side, it’s a slippery slope once you start dyeing 😛 Those greens look great, I love the white running through it.

  2. Pingback: Startitis « Suddenexpression's Blog

  3. Pingback: Yarn & Wood | Suddenexpression's Blog

Leave a Reply

