3KCBWDAY1 – Colour Lovers

Today’s the day!! The beginning of Knit Crochet Blog Week! It’s a great time of the year! Last year I don’t think I made it through the whole week because life may have gotten in the way. Now I can’t promise it won’t happen again, especially since I have been a bit under the weather lately and will be seeing the doctor tomorrow to see if something more serious is actually going on. But hopefully I’ll be able to stay up to date with the posts this time.

Todays Topic – Colour Lovers
Colour is one of our greatest expressions of ourselves when we choose to knit or crochet, so how do you choose what colours you buy and crochet or knit with. Have a look through your stash and see if there is a predominance of one colour. Do the same with your finished projects – do they match? Do you love a rainbow of bright hues, or more subdued tones. How much attention do you pay to the original colour that a garment is knit in when you see a pattern? Tell readers about your love or confusion over colour.

Colour. I have to say how much I love that word colour….more specifically the spelling. Why did American’s change the spelling to color? I don’t know, I guess our spelling just doesn’t seem quite as sophisticated as it should. Because colour is sophisticated, it’s part of art, it is art really. I like the work colour much better than the word colour.

I definitely have a preference of colour when it comes to yarn. I took a gander at my bookshelf which used to hold all my stash. It now holds mostly baby stuff, but I’ve made sure to have my favorite stash displayed also. I wasn’t very surprised when I found 2, maybe 3 skeins that were solid colours. The rest is either variegated, striped, or tonals. And the brighter the better. The more colours in one skein the better. The more random the colors, the better. And the brighter, did I mention that? I hate pastels. I love bright colors! I’ve noticed a pattern. When I buy yarn for a specific pattern, that’s when I usually buy the solids I have. When I buy yarn for the stash, yarn that I am just drawn to, that’s when I have the wild, crazy, vivid colours. And what better brand to buy if that is the kind of yarn you like, than Wollmeise. Here’s my Miss Annabelle showing off Mommy’s Wollmeise stash.

That’s right, all my followers know it; I love Rohrspatz & Wollmeise yarn. If you found me through the Knit Crochet Blog Week tags welcome, and you now know I love Wollmeise. I used to live around an hour and a half away from the shop. I’ve been to the store 3 different times, and was disappointed leaving Germany because I knew I’d probably never be there again. So of course I stashed up! I have 16 skeins of Wollmeise and I’m in love with every single one of them. A person who loves deep, vivid, saturated colors needs to get their hands on some Wollmeise if they never have. And I’ll say this….I’ve been looking the colorway Grapes for Sheri for a long, long time and would be willing to trade almost any of the skeins I have if you have some Grapes for Sheri (which looks like this)!

To read all about other peoples’ love of colour from those taking part in Knitting and crochet blog week, simply perform a Google search for the tag 3KCBWDAY1, or click here.

8 thoughts on “3KCBWDAY1 – Colour Lovers

  1. Wow, your Wollmeise stash is drool worthy! Love those deep saturated colors. Miss Annabelle looks very much at home among yarn royalty. Hope that you feel better soon.

  2. I very much agree that that color of yarn would be so amazing to own. But then again, so would any of the colors you cute little girl is showing off! She alone makes me want them all! Happy Blog week, can’t wait to read more!

  3. Wooow! So much Wollmeise! Every single skein looks delicious. I’ve always wanted to try Wollmeise, it sounds like an amazing yarn to work with. I’ll have to go on the hunt one of these days!

  4. Pingback: Last Chance! | Suddenexpression's Blog

  5. Hi!

    I know we talked about a Grapes for Sheri skein – let me know if you’re still interested – I know I won’t knit mine up. You can find me on Rav as anji

Leave a Reply

