3KCBWDAY6 – Improving Your Skillset

Today’s TopicImproving Your Skillset
How far down the road to learning your craft do you believe yourself to be? Are you comfortable with what you know or are you always striving to learn new skills and add to your knowledge base? Take a look at a few knitting or crochet books and have a look at some of the skills mentioned in the patterns. Can you start your amigurumi pieces with a magic circle, have you ever tried double knitting, how’s your intarsia? If you are feeling brave, make a list of some of the skills which you have not yet tried but would like to have a go at, and perhaps even set yourself a deadline of when you’d like to have tried them by.

This topics pretty easy for me. Now I could tell you about all the knitting skills I’ve yet to try and how much I want to try them. Or all the skills I have yet to really master. But that’s not what I want to talk about. I’ll tell you what knitting hurdle I needle to conquer. In fact, I could really yell it from the rooftops because I want it so bad. “I WANT TO KNIT AN ADULT SIZED SWEATER, AND ACTUALLY FINISH IT!”

Now, I have all the skills to make a sweater. I might not be completely proficient in doing so, but I could get through the pattern without coming across something I’ve never done. I’ve made numerous baby sized sweaters. So what’s stopping me? Good Question! I’ve cast on for two sweaters in my knitting career. Amused was frogged because I did something wrong, and I just never cast it back on. The Lettuce Pullover is still in hibernation, and originally went into hibernation because I got pregnant and figured that I couldn’t try it on while knitting it. So it would’ve been a waste when it didn’t fit right.

Last year I bought enough yarn to make a sweater for my husband. Still hasn’t happened. I will say this, and really I’m challenging myself here; I will finish a sweater by the end of 2012. So (hopefully) I will post about one of these four FOs; Lettuce Pullover, Owls, Hooded Pullover, or Ambitious. If you are enjoying Knit Crochet Blog Week and would like to see more posts like today’s click here.

Leave a Reply

