Great Choice Readers

I have alot more to share this week than last weeks WIP Wednesday. I’ve done a bit of casting on. One of those projects was my Reader’s Choice Project. The final yarn pick is Cakewalk yarns in the Jam colorway with 39% of the vote, and the pattern picked is The Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief with a whopping 58% of the vote. I must say I was overwhelmed with the amount of votes, especially how soon I got them. I kept the vote open for 1 week, but after the first day I was pretty sure what I’d be making. So I ordered beads (from Fire Mountain Gems and Beads)! I figured if I didn’t end up making The Age of Brass and Steam with the cakewalk yarn, I would just use the yarn for a different beaded shawl. I was right though! The results of the vote didn’t really change much throughout the week. I’ve cast-on and I’m very happy with the progress so far! I really like the yarn too, and I’m using the Superfloss method to add the beads. So a big thank you to everyone who voted because I think I’ll have a great project to show!
20120509-155422.jpg

I’ve also cast-on for the Boneyard Shawl. I’m using Lang Yarns Tosca Light in a pink colorway. It has a very subtly gradient, and it’s almost like a heathered pink. I really love it. And I think the recipient will too, since it is a graduation gift. I cast back on for the Little Owls Jumper for the babe, and made some progress. I’ve knit quite a few inches, but it’s pretty boring stockinette stitch right now. I’ve made absolutely zero progress on the Lavendel Socks. I think this is because I’m “saving” them for my trip, since I really won’t have room in the diaper bag for much more than a small project bag.

20120509-155410.jpg

3 thoughts on “Great Choice Readers

Leave a Reply

