Prep

WIP Wednesday!  I’ve been working on getting prepared for the Ravellenic Games this past week.  Never heard of them?  They used to be called the Ravelympics which coincides with The Olympics.  This year the people who are in charge were actually contacted by the Olympic Committee for use of the word Olympics.  So even if you never had heard of the Ravelympics, you may have come across an article on it this year since it made national news.  Here’s a NYTimes article about the controversy.  My personal opinion?  Well I have every bit of respect for trademarking.  But to me, the word Ravelympics is different than the word olympics.  And the tone they took with knitters/crocheters/spinners and the like was actually quite offensive.   I however, do not want to put Ravelry at any type of risk, so for Ravelry’s sake I’ll go along with this new name.   And as much as I would like to boycott the olympics this year, I’ve been looking forward to them way to much.  And the U.S.O.C. doesn’t speak for the athletes, right?  And they are the ones that worked so hard to compete for their country.   A lot of people in the knitting community have different takes on how they feel about the issue.  I’ve seen many people who have embraced this change and many people who call it “the games that shall not be named” or  “the games formerly known as the Ravelympics” and other takes.

So by prepping I mainly mean organizing.  I’ve decided what projects I’m going to cast on during the games, what events they fit into, what yarn to use, and what needles to use.  That way I’m ready!  One other thing I’m doing?  Trying to finish up another project before it’s time for the opening ceremonies.  I’m hoping to get Grad Gift done, which is the Boneyard Shawl pattern.   I’d like to get it done ahead of time since it’s a gift for someone else and I don’t really want it on hold for a while.  I haven’t decided if I’m going to start some new spinning, but I do have some finished yarn to share Friday.  Don’t forget I’ll be doing a giveaway for my 200th post (this is my 194th!) so keep checking in!

2 thoughts on “Prep

  1. What events are you participating in? My LYS is doing their own and I keep going back and forth about it. Deadlines make me nervous and I have a ton of library books I don’t want to neglect

Leave a Reply

