Finishing Day

I’ve had some major startisis the past week or two.  But to even this constant casting-on out, I had to justify it by finishing up a few things.  I’ve been working on the same pair of socks since April.  In fact, since the very beginning of the pregnancy.  Which explains why I haven’t finished them.  The first one was finished within a week or two, and then the second one didn’t progress past the cuff since I had gotten sick.  This week I worked on it like mad, and finished up the heel yesterday.

 

I used Zauberball Crazy and really loved the color progression.   I used the Knitmore Girls Vanilla Sock pattern along with the help of the video tutorial for afterthought heels published by The Knit Girllls Podcast.    This was my first afterthought heel and I must say I’m not crazy about it.  I used the book The Sock Knitter’s Workshop for the toe and heel.  I used the spiral toe which I did like and it’s not very prominent.  I was not wonderfully happy with the heel, which was the basic toe the book gave.  They also seemed to match well, but when the socks are on you can see that one is obviously smaller than the other.  I think I’m going to give them to my mom since her feet are a bit smaller than mine.

I also finished my Turn-a-Square Hat.  It’s the first hat I’ve made for the hubs and he seems quite smitten with it.  So does the cat.  She already started kneading it, trying to sleep on it yesterday.  I think it was off the needles for a total of 10 minutes.  This was a fun, easy knit.  Next I have to reverse the colors to make the hubs’s best friend’s hat.  They will be almost twins….

So two projects were cast-on this week, two were finished yesterday, and one was cast on yesterday.  So of course I end up with more projects than I started with.  Like I need more WIPs.

Leave a comment